Municipality of Kauswagan

Kauswagan (Cebuano: Lungsod sa Kauswagan, Maranao: Monisipiyo san Kauswagan, Filipino: Bayan ng Kauswagan) is a fifth class municipality in the province of Lanao del Norte, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 26,278 people.


Kauswagan before was part affiliated municipality of Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte.

Executive Order No. 126, s. 1948 separated the barrio of Kauswagan and the sitios of Linamon, Magoong, Purakan, Rebukon, Samburun, Lapayan, Takub and Kawit from the then municipality of Iligan.

Kauswagan was the one of the municipalities suffered in Lanao del Norte during Marshall Law and ILAGA war against Moro. On March 2000, then President Joseph Estrada declared All-Out-War against MILF when the outbreak of the conflict of the MILF led by Abdullah Macapaar”Commander Bravo” bin Sabbar and the Philippine Army.


Originally and before Spain Invasion and later American Invasion, majority people living in Kauswagan are Maranao Tribe. In folk story from the old leaders said, during Spain occupation, some of the leaders from the interior areas of lanao del norte they usually cross the beach of municipality of kolambogan to beach of Ozamis City by boat to catch people living in other side and make them as worker (personal helper) or other said BISAYA in maranaw term. There was also a story that Mutia Family in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Occidental is originally came from Interior area in Lanao del Norte and even now still existing the story because of the great-great-great grandfather of their great-great grandfather of Mutia Families in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Occidental lifted a small one piece of book hanging in the center of the house and said to the children the forbidden and do not even touch of even open the book, and according to the claimed soon for many years when somebody open they saw writing but not familiar (Spanish language, English language), and some say that near to Arabic letters.

In long living and social process and sometimes in 1935 – 1944, under the National Land Settlement Administration (NLSA) of the Commonwealth Government, there was a Philippine House of Representative proposal to invade the Island of Mindanao to use the some land to help the Philippine Government, and one of the opposition that time is Congressman Datu Salipada Khalid Pendatun. The proposal was approved and signed by President Manuel L. Quezon, he is the president that time. The settlers are compose of people have knowledge about skill job, Agri Technician, Engineers, Farming.

The settlers are compose of different people from the Islands of Visayas and Island Luzon that has knowledge and experience of Agriculture, Technical, Farming, Lumber, Carpenter etc. The first batch transport were landed to the following Areas:

  • Some parts of Zamboanga
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Lanao Del Norte
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Some part of Surigao
  • Some part of Davao
  • Some Part of Cotabato

In Lanao del Norte, the transport of settlers was peacefully successful due to the smooth negotiations with the Maranao Tribal Leaders and Land Lords. As Welcome sign, the Land lords has donate piece of land (piece of land before are more than 5 hectares) to start the settlers life as beginning of life. In long run and process, the family of settler works to the land owners and as a gift since they are very good workers, the land lord gave the small piece of land as a gift. Some say that, settlers trade they made the business to the land lord just few item exchange of lands. Some family of land lords marry the daughter of their workers which result and until the majority living in Lanao del Norte and Misamis Occidental has blood in Maranao Tribe (Muslim Blood).

On the hand, the settlement has going problem and conflict between Non-Muslim and Muslim when Martial Law is implemented.

Elected officials 2016 – 2019

  • Municipal Mayor: Rommel Arnado
  • Vice Mayor: Jubas Matildo
  • Sangguniang Bayan:
    • Mastura Manangolo
    • Alde Tan
    • Aga Dimakuta
    • Desiderio Ayuno
    • Alice Pala
    • Malic Macabato
    • Rodulfo Dura
    • Bebang Tabanao
  • LNB President: Bu Michael J. Adenir
  • SB Secretary: Mr.Fortunato Densing


Kauswagan is politically subdivided into 13 barangays.

  • Bagumbayan (Pob.)
  • Bara-ason
  • Cayontor
  • Delabayan
  • Inudaran
  • Kawit Occidental
  • Kawit Oriental
  • Libertad (Lapayan)
  • Paiton
  • Poblacion
  • Tacub
  • Tingintingin
  • Tugar

6 of the 13 barangays are living and dominated by Moro (Maranao Tribe).

  • Bara-ason
  • Cayontor
  • Delabayan
  • Inudaran
  • Paiton
  • Tingintingin

MILF Occupation of some parts of Kauswagan

During Martial Law and ILAGA group against MORO “Maranao Tribe” in Lanao del norte, ILAGA Group had ambushed the Passenger Jeep (Franscesco Motors) where the most prominent older families in Barangay Delabayan that includes the mother (Bae Iba) of Commander Tagoranao AKA James Bond were there. aftermath of ambushed, the “Bae Iba” was still breathing and can still talk, and she said to some of the ILAGA group when they approach the Jeep she will report them what they did to his Son Commander Tagoranao James Bond. But instead the group leave the four (4) trigger men return to her and fire (1 magazine) at one direction to her which result that the body of “Bae Iba” was scattered.

There was a negotiation between Mayor of Kauswagan and Commander Tagoranao James Bond not to put himself to Justice but instead to submit and surrender the four (4) trigger men to MILF Lanao Del Norte. Shariah Law has confirm of death for the four (4) suspect and executed by Commander Tagoranao James Bond however, one of them did not execute instead to cut the two (2) legs and freed because he used his to legs to step forward to Jeep and as a message to ILAGA group.

After the dropped of Sharia Law for the four (4) trigger men, Commander Tagoranao James Bond had received the order from Late Aleem Aziz Mimbantas (MILF Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur Central Commander) to lead the (200) MILF selected soldiers and invade and massacre all the ILAGA group living in Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte. On the process, most of the people died in sea because they do not know how to swim and some of them were died because of the sunk boat overloaded.

On the MILF invasion, he control the almost key location of Kauswagan particularly in the following, and hold the Municipal Hall in four (4) hours in order to ask the Mayor for Justice of all Moro victims who had been killed:

  • Bagumbayan (Pob.)
  • Kawit Occidental
  • Kawit Oriental
  • Libertad
  • Poblacion
  • Tacub
  • Tugar

Mayors after People Power Revolution 1986

  • 1986 – 1989, OIC Hon.
  • 1989 – 1992,
  • 1992 – 1995,
  • 1995 – 1998,
  • 1998 – 2001,
  • 2001 – 2004, Jack Maruhom
  • 2004 – 2007, Jack Maruhom
  • 2007 – 2010, Jack Maruhom
  • 2010 – 2013,
  • 2013 – 2016, Arnado
  • 2016 present, Arnado


Cebuano and Maranao are the major languages in the town. The rest speak Tagalog. The majority of the population can speak and understand Cebuano and Tagalog.


Kauswagan is known as the Coconut industry of the interior areas. It also produce Fishing, Rice, Corns and basic vegetables.

Bus terminals

There will be newly build terminal and soon to open.

Basic education

  • Kauswagan Elementary School
  • Delabayan Elementary School


The Port of Kauswagan is located along the northern central coastal area facing the Kauswagan Bay.