State of the Province Address

Provincial Development Report

Events Calendar

Invitation to Bid

Full Disclosure Policy

hAwards and Achievements

Job Opportunities

News Archive

National Social Programs

Hotel and Restaurant

Photo Gallery

Video Gallery

More than 120 athletes join Lanao del Norte Triathlon

Winners of the Elite-Female Category pose with organizers of Lanao del Norte Triathlon 2015. (Left to right) Boardmember Harris Ali, Sittie Aminah Dimaporo, Genevieve Yu (3rd place), LC Langit (1st Place), Jennifer Paloma (2nd place), Pong Miñoza (Race Director), Dennis Yap (Transition Production President).

Tubod, Lanao del Norte – 127 athletes from all over the country joined the first-ever ‘Lanao del Norte Triathlon’ event held at capital town Tubod on June 21, 2015, this province.

The  swim-bike-swim competition was organized by the Provincial Government of Lanao del Norte in partnership with Transition Production.

“We are pleasantly surprised with the turn-out. We were only targetting 80 triathletes for our first triathlon here in Lanao del Norte, but we have now exceeded our target plus a good number of elite triathletes are here competing”, said Information Officer Lyndon Calica.

Triathlon groups from Iligan City, Cagayan de Oro City, province of Bukidnon, and Dumaguete City were among the biggest contingents. The province of Lanao del Norte was represented by Team Barracuda of Sultan Naga Dimaporo town led by Mayor Ulwan Dimaporo.

Athletes competed in four categories of the triathlon – Sprint, Age category, Relay and Elite.

Winners of the 1st Lanao del Norte Triathlon include Margareth Chiong, Alfriz Gascon and Arnold Unabia (Relay Category), Tonito Alejo (Sprint-Male Category), Razzle Ledres (Sprint-Female Category), James Rey Dimco (Age Group Three Over-All Male Category), Sittie Aminah Dimaporo (Age Group Three Over-All Female Category), Brian Borling (Elite-Male Category), and LC Langit (Elite-Female Category).

“I’m happy that people here are now aware of Triathlon as a sport. With the attraction of Triathlon many will come and experience for themselves the beauty and peacefulness of Lanao del Norte”, expressed LC Langit of Team Red Bull.

A day before the race, Governor Khalid Dimaporo hosted a dinner for all Triathlon participants at MCC Hotel.

“By organizing international and national sporting events here at our world-class Mindanao Civic Center (MCC) complex, we can show to the country that Lanao del Norte is truly a peaceful and progressive province”, declared Governor Dimaporo.

The triathlon race started with a 1.5-kilometer swim at Tubod wharf followed by a 40-kilometer bike ride and 10-kilometer run that ended at the Mindanao Civic Center (MCC) stadium where the awarding ceremony was held.

1st District Representative Imelda Quibranza-Dimaporo led the gun start at the starting gate of Tubod wharf. Sirens at the port area wailed to signify the start of the race as triathletes swam in the waters of Panguil bay.

Water Search and Rescue (WASAR) teams from the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office (PDRRMO) together with Philippine Coast Guards’ Special Operations Group (SOG) were on site to ensure the safety of all triathletes during the swim component of the race.

Personnel from the Provincial Civil Security Unit (PCSU), Lanao del Norte Highway Patrol Group (HPG), and provincial employees were tasked to handle the road security of participants for the bike and run parts.

Members of the 41st Infantry Battalion, 5th Mechanized Infantry Battalion, Lanao del Norte Police Provincial Office,  Tubod Fire Station, Karancho-Lanao del Norte Chapter and police interns from North Central Mindanao College were also tapped to augment the road security of the Triathlon event.

The awarding ceremony was led by Provincial Boardmember Harris Ali, Chairman of the Committee on Sports and Youth Development. VNL/PIO-LDN

Leave a Reply