State of the Province Address

Provincial Development Report

Events Calendar

Invitation to Bid

Full Disclosure Policy

hAwards and Achievements

Job Opportunities

News Archive

National Social Programs

Hotel and Restaurant

Photo Gallery

Video Gallery

Elite national athletes join 2nd Lanao del Norte triathlon event

Monica Torres (middle biker) rides with the elite male triathletes in the recently concluded 2nd Lanao del Norte Triathlon held at Tubod town.

Tubod, Lanao del Norte – Seven top triathletes of the country joined the more than 170 athletes who competed in the much anticipated 2nd Lanao del Norte Triathlon on November 29, 2015, this province.

The athletes came from different parts of the country like Metro Manila, the provinces of Bohol, Cebu, Camiguin, and the cities of Dipolog, Ozamiz, Cagayan de Oro, and Iligan.  Host province Lanao del Norte was well represented with athletes from Sultan Naga Dimaporo and capital town Tubod joining the race.
Among the nationally rank athletes competing in this fast-rising sporting event were  Jonard Saim (#1 ranked male triathlete),   Monica Torres (#1 ranked female triathlete),  and LC Langit (#3 ranked female triathlete).
“We are very happy with the huge turn-out of athletes joining this triathlon event of the province. We want this sport to be as popular as our international motocross races here in Lanao del Norte”, expressed Lanao del Norte Governor Khalid Dimaporo.
The province of Lanao del Norte is the acclaimed ‘Motocross Capital of the Philippines’.
The swim-bike-run event started with a 1.5 kilometer swim in Panguil Bay, followed by a 44-kilometer bike ride across the municipalities of Tubod, Baroy and Lala, then finally a 10-kilometer run ending at the world-class Mindanao Civic Center (MCC) sports complex.
Among the winners in the Elite category of this gruelling endurance race are Paul Jumamil of Team Alaska TRI Aspire (1st Place-Elite Men), Kristiane Lim of Team Alaska TRI Aspire (2nd Place-Elite Men) and Jonard Saim of Team Unilab Active Health (3rd Place-Elite Men). In the Elite Women Category, Monica Torres of Team Standard Insurance bagged the top spot while LC Langit of Team Red Cross took Second Place.     
In the Overall Age Group – Male Category, the winners are Michael Acas (1st place), James Rey Dimco (2nd place) and John Alcala (3rd Place).  
This sporting event is organized by the provincial government and Transition Production. The race is also sponsored by the 1st and 2nd Congressional Districts of Lanao del Norte.
On December 4 to 6, 2015, the provincial government is set to host again another international motocross competition dubbed as Lanao del Norte International Motocross Invitationals.  Several riders from the American Motocross Association (AMA) have already confirmed their participation in this mega-motocross event. Australian riders Bradley Robert Burch and Harry Paul Bink will also perform their death-defying jumps and stunts in the Freestyle competition.
This international racing event shall also be the first time for Lanao del Norte LGU to host a night Super-Cross competition.  
The province of Lanao del Norte is also known among basketball afficionados as the ‘Home of PBA in Mindanao’.  VNL/PIO-LDN

Leave a Reply