The Committee on Disaster Management received the Marawi Compensation bills filed in the 18th Congress, House Bill 3418 on August 5, 2019, HB 3543 on August 6, HB 3922 on August 14, 2019. The Committee Chairperson, Rep. Lucy Torres-Gomez created the Technical Working Group on December 18, 2019 for the purpose of consolidating the three legislative measures, TWG Chair was designated to Rep. Mohamad Khalid Q. Dimaporo.

The TWG convened on February 4, February 19, And March 11, 2020. The purpose of the TWG is to consolidate the different versions of the Marawi Compensation bills, and hear the official positions of relevant government agencies: Task Force Bangon Marawi, Department of Budget and Management, Department of Finance, Department of Public Works and Highways, Commission on Audit, PAGCOR, PCSO, the local government units of Marawi City and Lanao del Sur.

The following reservations have been highlighted by respective line agencies:

1.Constitutional violation of the Equal Protection clause (Task Force Bangon Marawi, COA)

2.Double Compensation/Duplication of Marawi Recovery, Rehabilitation and Reconstruction Program (DOF, DBM)

3.Use of Public Funds for Private Purposes (TFBM)

4.Post-Conflict Needs Assessment for Housing amounts to P 8.175 Billion compared to the proposed P30 Billion and P50 Billion Appropriations (TFBM, DBM, DOF)

5.Creation of Compensation Board is not necessary (DBM, COA)

6.Role of the Commission on Audit is omitted for the Compensation Board (COA)

7.PAGCOR and PCSO as funding sources not in line with national government priority programs (DOF, PAGCOR, PCSO)

8.Claimants should be lawful owners (DPWH, COA)

The Committee endeavors to propose solutions to the reservations of the Executive Departments. To date, our accomplishment has been the consolidation of the three bills into one working draft; the removal of PAGCOR and PCSO as funding sources; and the attachment of the Compensation Board to Department of Human Settlements and Urban Development in which its resident COA auditor may have jurisdiction in accordance to government rules and regulations. The three authors of the Marawi Compensation Bills, Rep. Adiong, Rep. Balindong, and Rep. Sangcopan has given the TWG Chair the authority to craft a proposed substitute bill for approval in the mother committee, the Committee on Disaster Management.