The Province of Lanao del Norte celebrates its 60th Foundation Anniversary and the highlight of the annual commemoration is the Sagayan Festival.

The grandest festival of the province has showcased once again the cultural treasure that the land of beauty and bounty possessed. In 1994, the provincial government through the Sangguniang Panlalawigan issued Resolution No. 140 adopting Sagayan as the cultural dance of Lanao del Norte.

Governor Imelda ‘Angging’ Quibranza-Dimaporo expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the municipal chief executives for their unwavering support to make this year’s celebration memorable as well as remarkable.

“Your support in this 60th celebration of Araw ng Lanao del Norte is much appreciated. It just shows how cooperative you are in attaining a goal that is common to us, and that is fostering unity amongst our people that are culturally diverse in order to attain sustainable peace and prosperity. And most importantly the people of Lanao del Norte who has supported all our efforts in sustaining the peace in our province” the Governor said.

The Provincial Chief Executive sincerely thanked Department of Tourism Assistant Secretary, Ms. Myra Paz V. Abubakar, despite her hectic schedule answered the invitation of the provincial government to celebrate with the people of Lanao del Norte.

Sagayan is a story about Datu Bantugan, who have fiercely fought his enemies to defend and protect his family and their communities against any form of abuse or threat from other tribes.

In Lanao del Norte, Sagayan is celebrated to exhibit the rich culture of the province and the unity to stand against any act that would threaten the harmonious relationship of the people.

Assistant Secretary Myra Paz V. Abubakar, Department of Tourism for Mindanao, graced this year’s Sagayan festival. The Assistant Secretary said that the DOT is in full swing to support the effort of the provinces, cities, and municipalities to promote tourism and provide access roads to potential tourist spots for the convenience of tourist in partnership with the Department of Public Works and Highways, like the road leading to Cathedral Falls in the Municipality of Kapatagan.

After the presentation of the seven (7) contingents coming from the High Schools of the Municipalities of Magsaysay, Lala, Liangan-Bacolod, Kapatagan, Pantar, MSU Balo-i, and Maigo, the 3rd Place was bagged by Magsaysay National High School, 2nd Place to Kapatagan National High School, and 1st Place was given to Lala National High School. Special Award was given to Pantar National High School as the Best Dimasangkay (the villain), and Best Bantugan (hero) was received by Magsaysay National High School.

Non-winning schools receive P50,000 each, while 3rd Place receives P200,000 plus trophy, 2nd Place receives P300,000 plus a trophy, and the Champion got P500,000 plus trophy.

Also present at the Grandstand of the Mindanao Civic Center Sports Complex were 2nd District Congressman Abdullah ‘Bobby’ Dimakuta Dimaporo, Vice Governor Maria Cristina N. Atay, Vice Mayor Ulwan Dimaporo of the Municipality of Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Mayor Haron Omar of the Municipality of Magsaysay, DOT Regional Director Marie Elaine S. Unchuan and former Regional Director Dorothy Jean Pabayo. PIO-LDN