The Provincial Government of Lanao del Norte initiates in launching the Provincial Anti-Smoking Council on September 7, 2018 at Macapagal Training Center, Governor Arsenio A. Quibranza Provincial Government Center compound, Pigcarangan, Municipality of Tubod.

Governor Imelda ‘Angging’ Quibranza-Dimaporo, Chairperson, strongly support the goal of the Council to prohibit individual to smoke within government facilities, public conveyances, public places in the province as stated in Provincial Ordinance No. 02-2018.

In addition, the said Provincial Ordinance will provide penalties for violation, appropriating funds for the implementation and for other purposes that will advance the interest of the general populace.

The Council was created to rally behind the national government’s campaign in establishing smoke-free environments in public and enclosed places based on Executive Order No. 26 and other pertinent laws such as Republic Act No. 7160 (Local Government Code of 1991), Republic Act No. 8749 (Philippine Clean Air Act of 1999), Republic Act No. 9211 (Tobacco Regulation Act of 2003), Civil Service Memorandum Circular No. 17 Series of 2009 (Smoking Prohibition based on 100% Smoke-Free Environment Policy), Republic Act No. 7394 (The Consumer Act of the Philippines-It is the policy of State to protect the interests of the consumer to promote his general and to establish standards of conduct for business and industry), and the Department of Education Order No. 75 Series of 2007, Ensuring Strict Observance of the Provisions of Executive No. 26.

To start with, Governor Angging has designated an area where employees can smoke their cigarettes which is located at the Basketball Court beside the Stage, and a penalty of P1000 will be charge to those employees who have disobeyed the rule.

The Provincial Chief Executive generally protect those who are non-smokers and establish an environment that is free from hazardous elements such as smoke from the cigarettes and others that affects the air within the grounds of the Provincial Capitol and the of the Province of Lanao del Norte. PIO-LDN