At exactly 5pm of August 18, 2018, triathletes joining the 2nd Leg of Lanorteman 2018 Triathlon Series come together for the registration and briefing of participants at the Gazebo of Mindanao Civic Center Hotel, Municipality of Tubod, Province of Lanao del Norte.

More than 250 triathletes of the province, the region and other parts of the country wilfully expressed their intent to take part in this prestigious sporting event, and to demonstrate their determination to continue the journey they have started since the first leg of this 2018 triathlon series.

Lanorteman is not only a test of one’s stamina and physical strength but as well as developing traits that build a man’s character, with strong mindset while reinforcing relationship through camaraderie among participants.

Triathlon is a sport where one is not primarily competing with other triathletes but challenging oneself’ to finish and conquer the discipline of this tri-sport.

Mr. Dennis Yap of Transition Productions laid down the rules to all participants at the briefing and emphasized that all must be cautious of the bike course for it is open to vehicular traffic, and there are roads that are under construction. Mr. Yap also added that, drafting behind a motor vehicle is illegal and a ground for disqualification. This reckless act may endanger the life of the athlete and fellow participants. “Drafting bike to bike is okay, but behind a motor vehicle is prohibit and can cause for your disqualification,” Mr. Yap explains.

The 2nd leg began early morning of August 19 at the municipal wharf of Kolambugan or Transition One. Triathletes have to swim the 750m triangular course, twice for the Standard Category and once for the Sprint Category.

In the Bike Course, participants for the Standard Category will have to go towards the Municipality of Maigo before heading back to MCC Sports Complex or Transition Two, while the Sprint Category will go straight to Transition Two for the Run. The Run Course for the Standard Category is 10k and for the Sprint Category is 5k.

Winners of Lanorteman 2nd Leg of 2018 Series: OVERALL STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Satar A. Salem (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Jorry A. Ycong (Rider Omega Tri-Team), 3rd Place: Paul A. Jumamil (SND Barracuda). OVERALL STANDARD FEMALE: 1st Place: Leyann A. Ramo (Black Arrow Express), 2nd Place: Cianyl A. Gonzalez (Rider Omega Tri-Team), 3rd Place: Karen A. Manayon (Rider Omega Tri-Team). 18 TO 24 STANDARD MALE: Jaylanie A. Lamama (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Justice A. Sousa Rider Omega Tri-Team), 3rd Place: Hanin A. Maruhom (SND Barracuda). 25 TO 29 STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Banjo A. Norte (Rider Omega Tri-Team), 2nd Place: John A. Alcala (CBT and Friends / Brite), 3rd Place: John Rey A. Tumanda (SND Barracuda). 30 TO 34 STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Ulwan M. Dimaporo (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Guillbert A. Besin (Team Rambo CCC/Binde NHS), 3rd Place: Junel A. Baring (SND Barracuda). 35 TO 39 STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Abu Ali A. Alonto (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Leian A. Cruz (SND Barracuda), 3rd Place: Kenneth Amiel A. Taylor (Caltex Delo TriBu). 35 TO 39 STANDARD FEMALE: 1st Place: Rupessa A. Llegunas, 2nd Place: Janice A. Salvador (Team Rambo CCC), 3rd Place: Razzle A. Ledres. 40 TO 44 STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Dan A. Brown, 2nd Place: Misuari A. Pido (SND Barracuda), 3rd Place: Jeyson A. Baculao. 45 TO 49 STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Ronald A. Parantar (Caltex Delo TriBu), 2nd Place: Miguelito A. Magalso (Dipolog), 3rd Place: Ramy A. Nasara (Iligan Trail Runners). 50 & ABOVE STANDARD MALE: 1st Place: Usop A. Santican (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Marcos A. Dimaporo (SND Barracuda). OVERALL SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Godwin Jacob A. Taylor (Caltex Delo TriBu), 2nd Place: Jan Paul Alexandrie A. Orong (Bukidnon), 3rd Place: Clinton A. Ortezano (SND Barracuda). OVERALL SPRINT FEMALE: 1st Place: Lyf Ashana A. Benigno (Bukidnon), 2nd Place: Samantha Isobel A. Larot (Bukidnon), 3rd Place: Ratna A. Dimaporo (SND Barracuda). 29 & BELOW SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Romeo A. Kalamohoy (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Franz A. Hora, 3rd Place: Jeremy A. Pepito (Saga Racing Team). 30 TO 34 SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Rudy A. Sebuco (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Kim Tubog A. Luardo, 3rd Place: Kevin Karl A. Asok (Tiwalag Naawan). 35 TO 39 SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Froilan Chavez A. Enriquez (AFP), 2nd Place: Jade A. Forelo (Lanorte Multisports), 3rd Place: Omar Nur A. Mohammad (SND Barracuda). 35 TO 39 SPRINT FEMALE: 1st Place: Ellen A. Avanzado, 2nd Place: Kathy A. Mapupuno (SND Barracuda). 40 TO 44 SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Richmond A. Conde (Rambo CCC), 2nd Place: Wendell A. Gaco (CTB and Friends / Brite), 3rd Place: Lembert A. Palapas (PEBI-Pagadian Extreme Bikers Inc.). 45 TO 49 SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Jaime A. Bumactao, Jr. (BJMP), 2nd Place: Moises A. Genetiano, Jr., 3rd Place: Dante A. Castardo (Lanorte Multisports). 50 & ABOVE SPRINT MALE: 1st Place: Million A. Solaiman, 2nd Place: Cerilo A. Calo (Lanorteman Multisports), 3rd Place: Lucman A. Derongawan (SND Barracuda). TEAM COMPETITION: 1st Place: Team Rider Omega Tri-Team, 2nd Place: Team Bukidnon. RELAY: 1st Place: Necie Grace Bullecer, Alfritz Gascon and Arnold Unabia (SND Barracuda), 2nd Place: Don Conde, Gemar Herana and Rocyfaith Mendoza (Rambo CCC), 3rd Place: Desios Carl Fuentes, Marlon Pabillaran and Jamael Dipatuan.

Ms. Sittie Aminah Quibranza Dimaporo actively organized sporting events in the Province of Lanao del Norte, to encourage and motivate young athletes enhance their talents in sports as well as promoting sports tourism in “The Land of Beauty and Bounty.” PIO-LDN