The 59th Araw ng Lanao del Norte Invitational Football Festival was held at the World Class Football Pitch of Mindanao Civic Center Sports Complex for two days beginning June 30 to July 1, 2018. 48 Football Clubs have registered for the categories of 15, 12 and 10 years old under and 30 Clubs for the Men’s Open, 20 for the Women’s Open and 7 for 35 years old and above coming from Iligan, Clarin, Tangub, Plaridel, Pagadian, Cagayan de Oro and even as far as Bukidnon, Gingoog and Butuan and Lanao del Norte vying for the title as champions of this year’s football festival.

The Provincial Government of Lanao del Norte through the “Kabataan Sigurado Program” constantly promotes sports activities in the province to identify young athletes who has the potential to excel in its chosen field of sports.

And one of the sports that the Provincial Government is focusing its attention to is Football or most commonly known in the country as “Soccer”. This sporting event is a team sport regularly composed of 11 players in each team or sometimes depending on the competition to which some are played by 7 or 9 players aside.

Ms. Sittie Aminah Quibranza Dimaporo, Executive Assistant to the Office of the Provincial Governor, actively promotes the sport of football in the province where she continuously organizes tournaments in constant coordination and collaboration with the Philippine Football Federation.

For the Two-day Tournament, the Champion for Under 10 years old is Samburon Football Club of Linamon Municipality, 1st Runner-up went to Tangub Football Club, 2nd Runner-up goes to Corpus Christi Cagayan de Oro, and Iligan City Football Academy got the 4th spot. In Under 12 years old category, Corpus Christi Cagayan de Oro bagged the Championship title followed by Samburon FC, then Tangub FC while Baroy Central Elementary School went home as 3rd Runner-up. For Under 15 years old, Kapatagan Football Club was crowned as the Champions then Lanao del Norte National Comprehensive High School Team A and B took the 1st and 2nd Runner-up, respectively followed by IMCC Rhinos.

In the Mens Open, Agusan Football Club won as Champions while Tangub FC Team B grabbed the 1st Runner-up then PJFC Pagadian beat Tangub FC Team A to take the 3rd position. FC 95 from Iligan fought bravely to get the Championship crown in the Ladies Open followed by PJFC Pagadian, Clarin Titans and M7 Oliveros took the 1st, 2nd and 3rd position, respectively. The Champion of 35 and Above category goes to Eastern Football Club, Pagadian United won the 1st Runner-up while Del Monte Bukidnon Hustlers got the 2nd rank and 3rd Runner-up proudly received by Firewolves Football Club of Pagadian. PIO-LDN