Lanao del Norte 1st District Representative, Congressman Mohamad Khalid Quibranza Dimaporo leads the Municipal Mayors of the province in attending the forum on Bangsamoro Basic Law at the Mohammad Ali Dimaporo Gymnasium inside the main campus of Mindanao State University in Marawi City on January 26, 2018, where six members of the Senate headed by Subcommittee Chairman for BBL, Senator Miguel Zubiri along with Moro Islamic Liberation Front Vice Chairman Ghazali Jaafar and members of the Bangasamoro Transition Committee.

The Province of Lanao del Norte like any other provinces seeks to attain long lasting peace in the region and the whole of Mindanao.

“If there is anybody that will benefit from the passage of the Bangsamoro Basic Law, it is the Province of Lanao del Norte, because we are tired of war, what we want is peace,” Congressman Khalid sincerely expressed at the forum.

Lanao del Norte is always the hardest hit province when war breaks out between the Moros and the National Government. For years and with the previous efforts in crafting various peace agreements, it is Lanao del Norte the only province outside the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao that supports the peace initiatives. Even with this guaranteed support, the province was a victim in 2008 when members of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front set ablaze the Municipalities of Kauswagan and Kolambugan which left great number of lives lost and hundreds of families displaced, but the province never ceased its support and hopes in attaining long lasting peace for the people of Mindanao.

With the blessing of Provincial Governor Imelda ‘Angging’ Quibranza-Dimaporo and 2nd District Representative, Congressman Abdullah ‘Bobby’ Dimakuta Dimaporo, Congressman Khalid brought with him Executive Assistant to the Office of Provincial Governor, Ms. Sittie Aminah Quibranza Dimaporo and the Municipal Mayors to show support for the swift passage of Bangsamoro Basic Law.

The only request of the young and reasonable Congressman to the members of the House of the Senate and the Bangsamoro Transition Committee (BTC) is to reconsider the voice of the people outside the ARMM who are also affected by the war and take cognizance on the demand of BTC for the inclusion of the six (6) municipalities of Lanao del Norte in the Bangsamoro Territory which comprise of the Municipalities of Balo-i, Tagoloan, Munai, Pantar, Tangkal and Nunungan.

“You let the people decide, anyways there is a provision there that says if 10% of the population wants to join the Bangsamoro Territory automatic nasa plebiscite na sila. If the local government unit, barangay or municipality will pass a resolution joining the Bangsamoro territory, who are we to question the wish of our constituents?” Congressman Khalid humbly appealed to the members of both committees.

The logical Congressman has also emphasized that the Bangsamoro Basic Law is not only for the Bangsamoro inside the ARMM but it is for all of us in Mindanao. PIO-LDN