Members of Liberal Party-Lanao del Norte Chapter led by Governor Khalid Dimaporo (in white barong) enjoy big leads over their political opponents during the recent national and local elections.

Tubod, Lanao del Norte – It’s a lanslide victory for Liberal Party-Lanao del Norte chapter popularly known as Team Quibranza-Dimaporo as all of its provincial candidates got comfotable lead over their opponents in the recent synchronized national and local elections.

“Our overwhelming victory over our political opponents only validates that the people of Lanao del Norte approve of the kind of pro-people government and leadership that we have consistently delivered here in the province”, said 1st District Representative-Elect and current Governor Khalid Dimaporo.

As of 10:30AM today (May 10), partial and official results from the COMELEC website show Governor Khalid Dimaporo with 74,730 votes over his nearest rival Jo Sanguila with 10,632 votes for the 1st District Representative position. While incumbent 1st District Representative Imelda Quibranza-Dimaporo now running for the gubernatorial position also has a sizable lead with 130,640 votes over her nearest opponent Eleanor Lantud’s 60,918 votes. 2nd District Representative Abdullah Dimaporo’s 68,476 votes was more than enough to ensure his re-election bid against Osop Omar’s 31,509 votes.

Meanwhile in the Vice-Gubernatorial position, LP’s Cristy Atay also enjoyed a huge lead having 112,172 votes against nearest rival Muammar Maquiling’s 65,984 votes.

Completing the sweep, all of LP’s candidates for the position of Provincial Board member won comfortably over other candidates. Among the newly elected 1st District Sanggunian Panlalawigan members include Grecille Matalines (47,291 votes), Mac Dibaratun (42,256 votes), Jackmar Maruhom (35,993 votes), Reinario Bihag (35,264 votes), and Marivic Ramos (31,977 votes).  Newly-elected 2nd District Sanggunian Panlalawigan members include Cesar Yap (55,287 votes), Superman Usop (48,833 votes), Harris Ali (47,227 votes),  Tawantawan Cauntongan (45,337 votes) and Ronda Maruhom (44,272 votes).

Voter turn-out is a very high 71.48% with 349,868 votes cast from the 489,436 registered voters in Lanao del Norte.

Schedule for the proclamation of winning candidates for the provincial positions is yet to be set as of presstime.  VNL/PIO-LDN